ServSafe Food Safety Manager Certification/Re-certification

The Illinois and Wisconsin Departments of Public Health require all food service operations that prepare and serve food to have a certified food service manager on the premises at all times when food is being handled.


To receive the Food Service Sanitation Manager Certification (FSSMC), an employee must take an approved 8-hour training course and take the exam which immediately follows the course.  A passing grade is 75% or higher.  The certification is valid for 5 years, after which                   re-certification is required.


Safe Chefs offers classroom and online options for obtaining your Food Safety Manager Certification.  Classes are taught by certified ServSafe® instructors and includes the ServSafe®ANSI accredited, Food Safety Manager Exam.


Subjects covered in the course are:

  • Common pathogens

  • Personal hygiene

  • Rodent control

  • Safe food handling